The Billy Hunter Award 2016

Date Posted: December 15, 2016

West Whitlawburn Housing Co-operative was delighted to host the presentation event for the inaugural Billy Hunter Award for commitment to education. WWHC established this award in commemoration of Billy Hunter, a former Chairperson of WWHC, who sadly passed award in August 2015.

Billy was a self taught font of knowledge and wisdom and then in his late fifties decided to formalise his education and gained a Bachelor of Arts degree from Glasgow University. Billy placed a great emphasis on education in relation to his very firm beliefs and actions in relation to alleviating poverty, discrimination and disadvantage.

Winners of The Billy Hunter Award 2016 picture with WWHC committee members

Pictured at the ceremony held on the 14th December 2016 (Billy’s birthday) are Anne Anderson (vice chair WWHC) Dick Geater (Billy’s cousin) and this year’s award winners Keen and Hope Tsuro, and Jade Gourlay, this year’s runner up along with WWHC committee members Andy Duffin, Helen Anderson, Muriel Alcorn, and William Glover.

Dick said “ Many congratulations to Keen, Hope and Jade on their outstanding successes and we hope that The Billy Hunter Award will further inspire Keen, Hope and Jade, and many other pupils and students in the future to further academic achievements.”

Translate »
Skip to content